The Swiss authorities online

Jump to content

Tertiary education

Swiss tertiary level is divided into two sectors: the higher education sector and the professional education sector. The first sector is classified as Tertiary level A. It is comprised of higher education institutions (HEIs), i.e. cantonal universities, two federal institutes of technology (ETHZ, EPFL), universities of applied sciences (UAS) and universities of teacher education (UTEs). The second sector is classified as Tertiary level B. It is comprised of professional education institutions (PEIs) as well as guided or self-preparation for initial and advanced federal professional examinations.