The Swiss authorities online

Jump to content

Requirements for regular naturalisation

Regular naturalisation in Switzerland takes place at three levels: You must apply for citizenship of the Confederation, the canton and the commune.

You will need to meet the following requirements in order to obtain Swiss citizenship:

Citizenship Requirements
Confederation Requirements are the same for all applicants.
Canton and commune Requirements vary from one canton and commune to another: e.g. requirement to take a language or naturalisation test, etc.

More detailed information on the various requirements can be found by clicking on the links below.

Requirements for federal citizenship

Requirements for cantonal/communal citizenship

Special conditions apply to foreign spouses or registered partners as well as any children of a Swiss citizen who do not already have Swiss citizenship.