Jump to content

How many seats does each canton have in Parliament?

How many seats is my canton entitled to in the National Council and in the Council of States?

Seats in the National Council
The National Council represents the Swiss People. It is therefore also known as the People’s Chamber. Its 200 seats are divided among the 26 cantons in proportion to their total permanent resident population. The bigger a canton’s population, the more seats it has in the National Council.

Seats in the Council of States
The Council of States epitomises the concept of parity between the cantons. It can therefore be regarded as the Chamber of the cantons. Each canton has two seats, regardless of the size of its population; the exceptions are the former half-cantons (AI, AR, BL, BS, NW, OW), which only have one seat.

Distribution of seats in Parliament, by canton



National Council

Council of States


AG 16  2
Appenzell Outer Rhodes
Appenzell Inner Rhodes
AI  1 
Basel-Landschaft BL
Basel-Stadt BS
Bern BE 24 2
Fribourg FR
Geneva GE 12  2
Glarus GL 1 2
Graubünden GR 2
Jura JU
Lucerne LU 2
Neuchâtel NE 2
Nidwalden NW
Obwalden OW
St. Gallen SG 12  2
Schaffhausen SH 2
Schwyz SZ 4 2
Solothurn SO 6 2
Thurgau TG 2
Ticino TI 2
Uri UR 2
Vaud VD 19 2
Valais VS 8 2
Zurich ZH 35 2
Zug ZG 2


Who has more and who has fewer seats since the 2015 elections

The seats in the national Council are distributed among the cantons at the beginning of each new legislative period (every four years), in proportion to their permanent resident population. This calculated on the basis of the population in the year following the previous election.
The cantons of Geneva and Vaud each have one seat more than in the 2015 elections. The cantons of Bern and Lucerne each have one less.
Population per canton and increase or decrease in number of seats since 2015

Last modification: november 2019