The Swiss authorities online

Jump to content

Travelling abroad with children: what you need to be aware of

Many families take their friends’ children with them on holiday. It is advisable to obtain an authorisation letter from the parents. If you are travelling abroad, you will need to check the entry requirements of the country concerned.

Switzerland has not issued rules on children travelling unaccompanied or with a person who is not a family member. However, the Federal Office of Police recommends that parents should provide their child with a written declaration containing the following information:

  • Parents names, ID numbers (+ a photocopy), home address, and contact number;
  • Name, ID number, home address of accompanying person(s);
  • Child’s name and ID number;
  • Itinerary and travel dates.

Certain communes provide a pre-prepared form. The signatures should be authenticated by the commune of residence or by a notary.

Travelling abroad

Different rules apply for children travelling abroad without their natural parents, or with only one parent. Please contact the embassy of the country concerned for further details. Addresses can be found on the website of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA). Travel agencies and airlines can also provide you with information about a country’s entry requirements.

FDFA: Representations and travel advice

Les autorités suisses en ligne

Aller directement au contenu.

Voyager avec les enfants de quelqu’un d’autre : ce que vous devez faire

De nombreuses familles partent en vacances avec les enfants de leurs amis. Il est conseillé d’avoir une procuration des parents. En cas de voyage à l’étranger, il faut observer les conditions d’entrée du pays de destination.

La Suisse n’a pas édicté de dispositions concernant les voyages avec des enfants avec ou sans accompagnant ne faisant pas partie de la famille. L’Office fédéral de la police recommande toutefois aux parents de donner une déclaration écrite aux enfants qui ne voyagent pas avec eux. Celle-ci doit contenir les indications suivantes :

  • noms, numéro de la pièce d’identité (+ év. une copie de celle-ci) adresse, numéro de téléphone des parents;
  • nom, numéro de la pièce d’identité, adresse de l’accompagnant;
  • nom, numéro de la pièce d’identité de l’enfant;
  • itinéraire et dates du voyage.

Certaines communes mettent à disposition un formulaire spécial. Les signatures doivent être authentifiées par la commune de domicile ou un notaire.

Voyages à l’étranger

Si l’enfant ne voyage pas avec ses parents biologiques ou ne voyage qu’avec l’un d’entre eux, des règles différentes s’appliquent selon le pays de destination. Renseignez-vous auprès de l’ambassade du pays concerné. Vous trouverez son adresse sur le site Internet du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères. Les agences de voyage et les compagnies aériennes peuvent également vous informer des conditions d’entrée prévues par le pays de destination.

DFAE : Représentations et conseils aux voyageurs